Heritage Trail #CA1

The place I visited for my  heritage trail is the Peranakan Museum. The reason why I chose it was because my friend (Eileen) asked me to go with her so I said why not, I can learn more about my own culture at the same time too. We took a long time to find the place because Google maps was not really helping us that well but we eventually found it. The Peranakan Museum is part of the SG50 Jubilee walk which I went for last year. ( Yes, I forgot how to walk there even though I went for the SG50 Jubilee walk. )

IMG_9184[1].JPG

IMG_9380[1]

The Peranakan Museum!

IMG_9188[1]

I became a statue 🙂

( also the wind was blowing my shirt so I look fat 😥 )

IMG_9190[1]IMG_9191[1]

Some of the people who were featured in the Perankan museum. Below their photos are captions of what they like about their culture and the caption under the first picture was ” I like the kueh kuehs ” The boys are brothers! Their photos aren’t side by side in the museum though.

IMG_9199[1]

The museum was pretty aesthetic ( actually all museums are ) and really nice for photos/updating your Instagram.

I learned quite a bit from this visit for example the different kinds of Peranakans. Many different communities are recognised as ‘Peranakans’, for example the Jawi Peranakans who are descended from the Indian Muslims, the Chitty Melaka community descended from Hindu traders and the Baba community who are descended from the Chinese. The term ‘Baba’ was used for both the Chinese Peranakan community as a whole as well as to refer to the males of the community. The ladies were referred to as Nonya, which is why we often see the term ‘Baba-Nonya’. To be honest I always thought that the Perankans were just people who had both Malay and Chinese blood.

IMG_9241[1]

A large model of a Kamcheng

If you did not know what Kamchengs are, Kamchengs are a tub like container  with a wide mouth and low collar. The function of the Kamcheng is uncertain but it is believed to be used to store boiled water or soups. The Kamcheng is one of thee three most important wares in Peranakan Chinese wedding ceremonies and used to bring various types of food and sweetmeats to the bridal chamber.

Traditional Peranakan Weddings

The first picture shows the Pak Boyen which were what the people were known as. The lanterns were used to bare the surnames of the family on them to proclaim to all that the two families were joined together in marriage.

The second pictures shows a few models one being the Sang Khek Umm known as the mistress of the family. She stands behind the bride and her role in the wedding procession was to guide the bride in the way she was to walk, facial expressions and so on. The model on the other side of the other side is the Pak Chindek who is a Malay man and the counterpart of the Sang Khek Umm.

IMG_9250[1].JPG

A traditional Peranakan kebaya

IMG_9244[1]

Hand crafted wood cupboard

This is one of the many hand crafted wooden household furniture the museum showcases. The designs on the furniture are very intricate and many special symbols are crafted onto the furniture and the different symbols have different meanings.

 

IMG_9371[1]

Oh no I’m a third wheel (get it cause I’m also holding a wheel)

IMG_9358[1].JPG

Thank you for going through my blog!

A short video (really short) of my trip to the museum! 🙂

Leave a Reply

